Hama Portrait

For those of you that aren’t familiar, I would like to introduce you to the wonderful world of Hama beads.


Hama beads are basically small plastic beads that you place onto a pegged board in your desired design, and then iron over them using paper to fuse them. I was absolutely fascinated with Hama beads when I re-found them a couple of months ago online – (I vaguely remember them from my childhood!). So, I set out to buy them in bulk with some help from Finny, patron saint of the arts. Ebay was my place – and I baught approximately 40 bags of various colours… I didn’t know what I was going to make with them when I purchased so I just took a guess and picked out some colours. It worked out quite well I think! If I was to get more of these in the future, I have a colour palette in mind for a bigger project which I will mention in this post!

I have seen and made some very mediocre pieces with Hama beads, but it is their potential for their use keeps me coming back for more… I have been frustrated with bead placement as it is time consuming, and I have accidentally got jewellery and clothing caught on the peg boards and sent beads flying. Not fun! I am still finding light blue beads in the sitting room ever since…. the accident… *creepy music* I shall persevere, and I have a feeling my relationship with Hama beads is going to be a long spanning one.

I have discovered some absolutely incredible Hama bead creations online that have literally blown my mind and this one in particular totally stunned me. It still does, every single time I see it. Beautiful. It is always at the back of my mind in relation to Hama beads and proves to me their true potential.

”Les

I have unfortunately lost the source for this image. If anyone knows who created it please get in touch as I would love to check out their other work!

I immediately thought of this portrait I did of myself a couple of years ago when I saw this image. It instantly made me want to create something as beautiful. The little honeycombed colour sections throughout this self portrait I did in around 2007/2008 would lend themselves beautifully to Hama beading.

Self Portrait

However I wonder if the colour palette is too samey? I think I might like to try different colours… and mix up the palette a bit.
This would be a mammoth task to complete – I’m having visions of counting out hundreds of beads and running out of certain colours – but one I think would definetly be worth doing. Painting by numbers, large scale, right? I would need a dedicated Hama beading table – and a few extra boards. (I have unfortunately melted the outer edges of some of my boards so this results in unusable perimetres on some of them which would be troublesome).

I must get cracking on this – Would be a fabulous piece to have completed.
Thanks for reading, and be sure to check out my shop for some Hama bead creations! More to come over the next few days 🙂
www.makelovely.etsy.com

2 thoughts on “Hama Portrait

  1. yer blowin my mind here. that self portrait is epic! can you get the right colour selection though in them? i like the colour spectrum used, it like totally matches my hair these days. blog is amazing. keep up the good work. 🙂

    1. bow chicka wow wow! hello there 😀 ..I think you can pretty much get all of the colours I would need in Hama beads yeah – there’s a seller on Ebay who sells in lots of 35 which would be good..*massiveparcelnoises*.
      \o/ Checking out your blog now, thanks for having a read 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

